CHANGING DIRECTIONS

Writing a book has been a life long dream.  I have written poetry for as long as I can remember but I have never tried writing a book until about eight years ago.  The book was very cathartic in that I needed to tell the story.  Unfortunately, I wrote every detail I could remember.  I actually had a friend insist I include a couple of sentence about a discussion she had with me.  It did not add anything to the book at all.  I ultimately took it to a counselor friend of mine.  She gave me the most honest critiques I have ever had.  The book was way to technical.  

When I decided to start writing again, this book is where I decided to start.  Almost three months later I have a list of character names and about two pages written on the book.  Not exactly where I wanted to be after three months.  At this rate, I will never get the book written.  Where do I go from here?  

Another idea I had in mind was writing about living in a nursing home.  The great thing there is that I still live in a nursing home.  The feelings, concerns, story ideas are all around me.  It reminds me of living in a zoo or, better yet, the nursing home version of “One Flew Over the Coo-Coo’s Nest.”  Most of my “roommates” have various forms of Dementia and Alzheimer’s.  We have roamers, screamers, nudist and residents who are down right rude.

I decided to sit down and write out characters I wanted to use.  I also wrote down stories I wanted to tell.  Some of the stories are totally funny and some are extremely sad.  I ended up with 7 or 8 pages of notes.  Seems like I am on a roll.  I love to see the wheels churning.

I have given myself a deadline of August 1st to actually start writing.  I need to come up with character names and probably a few stories.  I am not sure what to give as a title yet.  That one is going to be fun.

Image

Leave a Reply

